Ennio Morricone The Mission Main Theme

Ennio Morricone The Mission Main Theme

Italian composer, German orchestra, British film, South American story are gathered in one place “The Mission” movie. Here, in this video, The Munich Radio Orchestra leading by Italian composer Ennio Morricone perform “The Mission Main Theme” from the British film of the same name (directed by Roland Joffé).

“Everybody really loved the music; it is still a huge success worldwide. But when I think about how the idea was born, I must say that it was either a coincidence or, better, something we might call a little miracle.”…. Composer: Ennio Morricone

This movie tells the story of a Spanish Jesuit priest who goes into the South American jungle to build a mission and convert a community of Guarani indians whilst fighting off the dastardly Portuguese colonials, who are trying to enslave the community.

Ennio Morricone (born in 1928) is perhaps best known in the public mind for his Cinema Paradiso, Once Upon A Time In America, The Untouchables and Gabriel’s Oboe. He composed more than 500 films and TV series, so much so that his name has become synonymous with Italian music, like Verdi and Puccini. His music to films bearing heavy social justice messages, such as Pontecorvo’s The Battle of Algiers (1966), Montaldo’s Sacco e Vanzetti (1971), Joffé’s The mission (1986) and Petersen’s In the line of fire (1993) to name a few, never cease to make people reflect upon the frailty of the human condition and on fostering hopes for a better future.

It’s no surprise that The “mission” film score is one of the best-selling of all time. Music has a key role in the movie, it seems entirely as if it’s the film which is taking its inspiration from the music. It was composed, orchestrated, conducted and produced by Ennio Morricone. In addition, it ranks first on the “Classic 100 Music in the Movies” and was certified “gold” by the Recording Industry Association of America. 

See also: The Lonely Shepherd – André Rieu & Gheorghe Zamfir

The Mission is a must for any soundtrack collection, and available on Amazon.com site.

Ennio Morricone the mission songs: Track listing

  1. “On Earth As It Is In Heaven” – 3:50
  2. “Falls” – 1:55
  3. “Gabriel’s Oboe” – 2:14
  4. “Ave Maria Guarani” – 2:51
  5. “Brothers” – 1:32
  6. “Carlotta” – 1:21
  7. “Vita Nostra” – 1:54
  8. “Climb” – 1:37
  9. “Remorse” – 2:46
  10. “Penance” – 4:03
  11. “The Mission” – 2:49
  12. “River” – 1:59
  13. “Gabriel’s Oboe” – 2:40
  14. “Te Deum Guarani” – 0:48
  15. “Refusal” – 3:30
  16. “Asuncion” – 1:27
  17. “Alone” – 4:25
  18. “Guarani” – 3:56
  19. “The Sword” – 2:00
  20. “Miserere” – 1:00


Related Posts